Trendy

I’m not one to bow to the newest awesome thing.

I don’t own a smartphone or a pair of jeggings.
I’ve never painted my nails black and the new crackle nail polish confuses me.

I’m struggling to even tell you the things I don’t buy or do because I simply have no idea what the kids are into these days. I think not having cable and relying solely on Netflix for entertainment has something to do with it. No commercials means no outside sources telling me what to do with my time and money.

But when I do jump on a bandwagon, holy shit do I jump. True Blood, Dear Girls Above Me, Pandora, 8Tracks, Glee, Angry Birds… I joined late but they’re in my circle of awesome things I can’t live without.

But right now, I’m all about Mad Men. It hit Netflix InstantPlay this week so I decided to give it a shot, if only for the tie clips and Marilyn Monroe dresses.

What is about to be said is already common knowledge:

Holy mother of god, what have I been missing?! The culture aspect is INCREDIBLE! It’s everything you’ve heard about the 60’s in a neat little package. Except it’s not neat! It’s complicated and deep. A simple look between characters tells more of story then the dialogue!
I can even forgive January Jones’ parents for naming her after a terrible, terrible month (although, it’s fitting, since she looks like an ice queen).

Welcome to my circle of awesome, Mad Men.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

